‘Arrival,’ ‘La La Land’ Top American Cinema Editors Eddie Awards

Industry News

Editor Thelma Schoonmaker ACE received a Lifetime Achievement Award from Director Martin Scorcese; photo by AJ Catoline

Reprinted from The Hollywood Reporter by Carolyn Giardina on January 27, 2017.

Arrival editor Joe Walker and La La Land editor Tom Cross won top honors at  American Cinema Editors’ 67th annual Eddie Awards, Friday night at the Beverly Hilton Hotel. Arrival won the category for best edited dramatic feature and La La Land for best edited comedy feature.

Both editors are nominated for the Oscar in film editing, along with John Gilbert for Hacksaw Ridge, Jake Roberts for Hell or High Water, and Nat Sanders and Joi McMillon for Moonlight. All were also nominated by ACE.

In 11 of the last 15 years, the winner of the Eddie for dramatic feature has gone on to win the Academy Award in film editing. In 2003, the Oscar for film editing was awarded to the musical Chicago, which won the Eddie that year for the category then-known as best edited feature, comedy or musical.

Tonight marked the first Eddie win for Walker and Cross, who are previous Eddie and Academy Award nominees. Cross won the Oscar in 2015 for La La Land director Damien Chazelle’s prior film, Whiplash.

Also during Friday ceremony, the editors of Zootopia, Fabienne Rawley and Jeremy Milton, won the Eddie for an animated feature, and Bret Granato, Maya Mumma and Ben Sozanski’s work on O.J. Made in America earned the Eddie in the feature documentary category.

Winners in the TV categories including the editors of Veep, Game of Thrones, Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown, This is Us and TV doc Everything is Copy. And last year’s Career Achievement honoree, Carol Littleton, collected an Eddie for All the Way in the category for a miniseries or motion picture for television.

During the evening, J.J. Abrams received the ACE Golden Eddie Filmmaker of the Year award, which was presented by Jeff Garlin.

“I wrote tonight’s speech without the help of an editor, so it will be long and rambling and repetitive,” Abrams joked, thanking some of the “greatest artists,’ the editors, for the work that they do “at that last unforgivable stage in the creative process.” He noted that as a writer or director, he knows there are next-steps to improving the film, “but as editors you are f—ed. There’s no magical next step. … The artist has to perform a a magic trick [with only the footage that they are provided].”

Martin Scorsese presented a Career Achievement Award to his longtime editor Thelma Schoonmaker. “I love the editing process the most,” he said, saying it’s “spending time with Thelma. … Ultimately it’s about trust and her fierceness to fight for the truth in the film.”

Accepting the award, the pair hugged and Schoonmaker said, “the award belongs to Marty as much as to me. … To receive footage that has been shot with editing in mind, it is a blessing.”

Thomas Schlamme presented the second Career Achievement Award to Janet Ashikaga, whose ediitng credits include The West Wing, Sports Night and Seinfeld.

Lori Jane Coleman, Diana Friedberg and William Gordean, received Heritage Award for their work in creating and building the ACE Internship Program. And Arrival director Denis Villeneuve presented the Student Award to Tommy Wakefield of the University of North Carolina’s School of the Arts.

The complete list of winners follows:

  • Best Edited Feature Film (Dramatic)

    Paramount Pictures

    Arrival – Joe Walker, ACE (WINNER)

    Hacksaw Ridge – John Gilbert, ACE

    Hell or High Water – Jake Roberts

    Manchester by the Sea – Jennifer Lame

    Moonlight – Nat Sanders, Joi McMillon

  • Best Edited Feature Film (Comedy)

    'La La Land'
    ‘La La Land’

    La La Land – Tom Cross, ACE (WINNER)

    Deadpool – Julian Clarke, ACE

    Hail, Caesar! – Roderick Jaynes

    The Jungle Book – Mark Livolsi, ACE

    The Lobster – Yorgos Mavropsaridis

  • Best Edited Animated Feature Film


    Zootopia – Fabienne Rawley & Jeremy Milton (WINNER)

    Kubo and the Two Strings – Christopher Murrie, ACE

    Moana – Jeff Draheim, ACE

  • Best Edited Documentary (Feature)

    'O.J.: Made in America'
    ‘O.J.: Made in America’
    Courtesy of ESPN

    O.J.: Made in America – Bret Granato, Maya Mumma & Ben Sozanski (WINNER)

    13th – Spencer Averick

    Amanda Knox – Matthew Hamachek

    The Beatles: Eight Days a Week – the Touring YearsPaul Crowder

    Weiner – Eli B. Despres

  • Best Edited Documentary (Television)

    'Everything is Copy'
    ‘Everything is Copy’
    Wellesley College/Courtesy of HBO

    Everything is Copy – Bob Eisenhart, ACE (WINNER)

    The Choice 2016 – Steve Audette, ACE

    We Will Rise: Michelle Obama’s Mission to Educate Girls Around the World – Oliver Lief

  • Best Edited Half-Hour Series

    Lacey Terrell/HBO

    Veep: “Morning After” – Steven Rasch, ACE (WINNER)

    Silicon Valley: “The Uptick” – Brian Merken, ACE

    Veep: “Mother” – Shawn Paper

  • Best Edited One-Hour Series (Commercial)

    'This is Us'
    ‘This is Us’
    Ron Batzdorff/NBC

    This Is Us: “Pilot” – David L. Bertman, ACE (WINNER)

    Better Call Saul: “Fifi” – Skip Macdonald, ACE

    Better Call Saul: “Klick” – Skip Macdonald, ACE & Curtis Thurber

    Better Call Saul: “Nailed” – Kelley Dixon, ACE & Chris McCaleb

    Mr. Robot: “eps2.4m4ster-s1ave.aes” – Philip Harrison

  • Best Edited One-Hour Series (Non-Commercial)

    'Game of Thrones'
    ‘Game of Thrones’
    Courtesy of HBO

    Game of Thrones: “Battle of the Bastards” – Tim Porter, ACE (WINNER)

    The Crown: “Assassins” – Yan Miles, ACE

    Stranger Things: “Chapter One: The Vanishing of Will Byers” – Dean Zimmerman

    Stranger Things: “Chapter Seven: The Bathtub” – Kevin D. Ross

    Westworld: “The Original” – Stephen Semel, ACE & Marc Jozefowicz

  • Best Edited Mini-Series or Motion Picture (Non-Theatrical)

    'All the Way'
    ‘All the Way’
    Hilary Bronwyn Gayle/HBO

    All the Way – Carol Littleton, ACE (WINNER)

    The Night Of: “The Beach” – Jay Cassidy, ACE

    The People V. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story: “Marcia, Marcia, Marcia” – Adam Penn, Stewart Schill, ACE & C. Chiyoon Chung

  • Best Edited Non-Scripted Series

    'Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown'
    ‘Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown’
    Screenshot/ CNN/YouTube

    Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown: “Senegal” – Mustafa Bhagat (WINNER)

    Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown: “Manila” – Hunter Gross, ACE

    Deadliest Catch: “Fire at Sea: Part 2” – Josh Earl, ACE & Alexander Rubinow, ACE

The Hollywood Reporter 1/27

About Jeffrey Burman 2658 Articles
Jeff Burman represents assistant editors on the Guild’s Board of Directors. He can be reached at jeffrey.s.burman.57@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply