Awards Season Begins: National Board of Review Announces Its 2017 Picks

Labor News, Industry News

Reprinted from Variety by  on November 28, 2017.

The New York-based National Board of Review has crowned Steven Spielberg’s The Post the year’s best film as the Oscar season’s kudos circuit roars to life.

The 108-year-old organization, which comprises “film enthusiasts, filmmakers, professionals and academics,” also tapped the film’s stars, Tom Hanks and Meryl Streep, for top acting honors. Willem Dafoe (The Florida Project) and Laurie Metcalf (Lady Bird) won in the supporting categories.

Screenplay honors went to The Disaster Artist and Phantom Thread, while Lady Bird helmer Greta Gerwig won best director.

Pixar’s Coco took the animation prize, Jane won best documentary and Samuel Maoz’s Foxtrot was named best foreign film. …

Variety 11/28

About Jeffrey Burman 3391 Articles
Jeff Burman represents assistant editors on the Guild’s Board of Directors. He can be reached at

Leave a Reply