Editors Guild Members Invited
to Join Motion Picture Academy


The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has extended invitations to join the organization to 928 artists and executives from 59 countries — including 37 Editors Guild members in good standing — who have distinguished themselves by their contributions to theatrical motion pictures.

Joi McMillon.
Unsun Song.
Anita Brandt Burgoyne.

This year’s invitees represent 17 Oscar winners, 92 Oscar nominees and 103 Oscar nominations total. Of the 2018 invitees, 49% were female, bringing the Academy’s overall female membership to 31% for 2018, up from 28% last year. In addition, 38% of this year’s invitees were people of color, bringing the Academy’s overall membership of people of color to 16% for this year, up from 13% in 2017.

Matt Chessé.
Clare Knight.
Sidney Wolinsky.

Editors Guild members are represented on three branches of the Academy’s Board of Governors: the Film Editors Branch and the Sound Branch, as well as the Music Branch, which includes music editors among others. The branches were responsible for the invitations in their respective categories. The Film Editors Branch was one of nine branches that invited more women than men to join the organization in 2018.

Lillian Benson.
Plummy Tucker.
Jon Gregory.

Those who accept these invitations will be the only additions to the Academy’s membership in 2018, and will be welcomed into the Academy at invitation-only receptions in the fall.

Following are 2018 invitees from the Film Editors and Sound Branches, as well as the music editor invitees for the Music Branch:

Jen Monnar.
Julian Slater.
Stephanie Lowry.
Film Editors Branch

Jonathan Amos, ACE #
Laurence Bawedin
Lillian Benson, ACE ^ *
Ken Blackwell, ACE ^
Valerio Bonelli
Anita Brandt Burgoyne, ACE ^
Nicolas Chaudeurge
Matt Chessé, ACE ^ #
Cheung Ka-Fai
Andrea Chignoli ^
Walter Fasano
Jon Gregory, ACE ^ #
Karen Harley
Lee Haxall ^
Harry Hitner **
Clare Knight, ACE ^
Steen Johannessen
Felipe Lacerda
Anna Mass
Joi McMillon, ACE ^ #
Marion Monnier
Jane Moran ^
Nelly Quettier
Patricia Rommel
Elísabet Ronaldsdóttir
Elena Ruiz
Soledad Salfate
Ballu Saluja
Jill Savitt, ACE ^
Hervé Schneid
Jacob Secher Schulsinger
Cristiano Travaglioli
Plummy Tucker, ACE ^
Hansjörg Weissbrich
Sidney Wolinsky, ACE ^ #

Sound Branch

Dan Abrams ^
David Acord ^ #
Vincent Arnardi, CAS #
Michael Babcock, CAS ^
Daniela T. Bassani
David V. Butler ^
John Casali
Tim Cavagin #
Debajit Changmai
Bishwadeep Chatterjee
Patrick Cyccone, Jr. ^
Antonio Diego
Nelson Ferreira
Ruy Garcia, MPSE ^
Glen Gauthier #
Joan Giammarco ^
Shawn Holden, CAS
Joel Iwataki ^
Jason W. Jennings ^
Kim Suk-won
Jason King ^
Marissa Littlefield ^
Nico Louw
Helen Luttrell
Mary Ellen Porto, MPSE ^
Jill Purdy ^
Christian Schaanning, MPSE ^
Julian Slater ^ #
Unsun Song ^
John C. Stuver, MPSE ^
Tim Walston, MPSE ^
Yang Jiang
Zhao Nan
Martyn Zub, CAS, MPSE ^

Music Branch

Joe Bonn ^
Ted Caplan
Stephanie Lowry ^
Jen Monnar ^
Trevor Morris
Melissa Muik ^
Steven A. Saltzman ^
Jeanette Surga ^

^ Editors Guild member in good standing
# Oscar nominee
* Also invited by the Academy’s Documentary Branch (Lillian Benson chose to join the Film Editors Branch)
** Also invited by the Short Film and Feature Animation Branch

Leave a Reply