BAFTA Film Awards Nominations: ‘Joker’, ‘The Irishman’, ‘Once Upon a Time…’

Labor News, Industry News

Mei Lewis/BAFTA/REX/Shutterstock

Reprinted from Deadline Hollywood by Nancy Tartaglione on January 6, 2020.

Nominations for the EE British Academy Film Awards have been announced this morning in London with Warner Brothers’ Joker in the lead at 11 mentions. The Todd Phillips-directed $1B+ worldwide grosser that just scooped a Best Actor Golden Globe for Joaquin Phoenix is followed by Martin Scorsese’s Netflix pic The Irishman and Quentin Tarantino’s Once Upon A Time In Hollywood from Sony. Focus Features’ Downton Abbey, a big box office hit based on the beloved British TV series, was entirely shut out. (See the full list of nominees below.)

Also figuring heavily in the races unveiled today are Sam Mendes’ Golden Globe Best Picture Drama winner 1917 with nine nods. Including that film and the three leaders above, the Best Picture race is rounded out by Bong Joon-Ho’s Parasite. Bong is also in the Best Director field along with Mendes, Scorsese, Phillips and Tarantino.

In Outstanding British Film, 1917 figures along with Mark Jenkin’s Bait, Waad Al-Kateab and Edward Watts’ For Sama, Ken Loach’s Sorry We Missed You, Fernando Meirelles’ The Two Popes and Dexter Fletcher’s Rocketman (the Paramount movie having shockingly missed out in the Costume Design race). …

THE IRISHMAN Thelma Schoonmaker
JOKER Jeff Groth
LE MANS ’66 Andrew Buckland, Michael McCusker

1917 Scott Millan, Oliver Tarney, Rachael Tate, Mark Taylor, Stuart Wilson
JOKER Tod Maitland, Alan Robert Murray, Tom Ozanich, Dean Zupancic
LE MANS ’66 David Giammarco, Paul Massey, Steven A. Morrow, Donald Sylvester
ROCKETMAN Matthew Collinge, John Hayes, Mike Prestwood Smith, Danny Sheehan
STAR WARS: THE RISE OF SKYWALKER David Acord, Andy Nelson, Christopher Scarabosio, Stuart Wilson, Matthew Wood …

RELATED POSTS:  Nichols: Bernie Sanders is Making a National Issue of this Strike

Deadline Hollywood 1/6

About Jeffrey Burman 5304 Articles
Jeff Burman served on the Guild’s Board of Directors from 1992 to 2019. He is now retired. He can be reached at

Leave a Reply

UA-83546600-1 UA-145349484-1