American Society of Cinematographers Announces Its Awards Nominees

Labor News, Industry News

Reprinted from The Hollywood Reporter by Carolyn Giardina on March 1, 2021.

The feature nominees for the 35th American Society of Cinematographers Awards are Erik Messerschmidt for Mank, Phedon Papamichael for The Trial of the Chicago 7, Joshua James Richards for Nomadland, Newton Thomas Sigel for Cherry and Dariusz Wolski for News of the World.

The Society revealed its complete list of awards nominees on Wednesday and will announce its winners on April 18 during a virtual ceremony that will be live streamed on American Cinematographer‘s Facebook page starting at 12:30pm PDT from the ASC Clubhouse in Hollywood.

This year’s field in the feature category includes three first-time ASC nominees, among them, Mank‘s Erik Messerschmidt, for his black-and-white photography in David Fincher’s ’40s-set biopic about Citizen Kane screenwriter Herman Mankiewicz; and Nomadland‘s Joshua James Richards, who lensed a portrait of the American West in Chloé Zhao’s road movie. Messerschmidt previously teamed with Fincher on Mindhunter, for which he was Emmy nominated in 2020; while Richards previously lensed Zhao’s The Rider. …

THR 3/10

About Jeffrey Burman 861 Articles
Jeff Burman served on the Guild’s Board of Directors from 1992 to 2019. He is now retired. He can be reached at