AFL-CIO: Biden Taps Union Leaders to Transition Teams

Labor News

Reprinted from the AFL-CIO’s blog Now by Kenneth Quinnell on November 12, 2020.

President-elect Joe Biden made sure that the voices of working people will be heard in the transition to his administration. He appointed more than two dozen leaders from the labor movement to the various agency review teams that will help make sure the Biden administration is ready to go on day one.

Here is a list of the labor leaders appointed to Biden’s transition teams:

  • Transition Advisory Board: International President Lonnie Stephenson, Electrical Workers (IBEW); President Teresa Romero, United Farm Workers (UFW)
  • Department of Education: Beth Antunez, American Federation of Teachers (AFT); Shital Shah, AFT; Marla Ucelli-Kashyap, AFT; Donna Harris-Aikens, National Education Association (NEA)
  • Department of Energy: Brad Markell, Industrial Union Council, AFL-CIO …

AFL-CIO blog Now 11/12

About Jeffrey Burman 861 Articles
Jeff Burman served on the Guild’s Board of Directors from 1992 to 2019. He is now retired. He can be reached at